cccc winner 2020

CCCC Winner 2020

cccc winner 2019

(L-R) Host Anjali Singh, CrossMaster Alan Cowell, the winning team members from The Mother’s International School, Delhi, Vijval Ekbote and Harshul Sagar, their mentor Vinayak Ekbote and the teacher in-charge from the winning school pose for a photo-op after the Grand Finale of CCCC 7.0, in New Delhi on November 28, 2019

cccc winner 2018

(L-R) Rishabh Vishwamithra, Aniket Bhat of St Joseph' Central School, Mysore; Kushagra Singh, Director, Legal and PR, CCCC 6.0; chief guest Madhup Tiwari, Joint Commissioner of Police, Delhi Police; Omkar's Joshi, Arghish Akolkar of DAV Public School, Pune; and Harshul Sagar and Aarush Utkarsh of The Mother's International School, Delhi

cccc winner 2017

Rida Shafeek and Aditi Koul of National Public School, Koramangala, Bangalore, hold the National Crossword Champion trophy as Ms Supriya Sahu, DG, Dorrdarshan, addresses the audience. Also seen are Mr Anil Swarup (far left) and Mr Madhup Tiwari (IPS), Joint Commissioner of Police, Delhi

 cccc winner 2016

(Kneeling L-R) 2nd runners-up Omkar Joshi and Rajlaxami of SES Gurukul, Pune; Champions Amar Mishra and Prem Tilak of Navrachana School, Vadodara; and 1st runners-up Aditi Kaul and Neha Cherian of NPS, Bangalore, (Standing L-R) Mr RN Singh, National Coordinator, CCCC; Mr Santosh Mall, Commissioner, Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan; Mr A K Ambastha, Chief Vigilance Officer, ONGC; Mr V K Singh, Principal Secretary, Govt of Bihar and Chief Mentor, CCCC 2016; Mr Abhay Singh, CCA Telecom, West Bengal; and Mr Kushagra Singh, Director (Legal and PR), CCCC 2016.

 cccc winner 2015

Olana Marie Peters and Roshini Chokroborty of La Marteniere For Girls, Kolkata are presented the National Champion Trophy by Mr. D K Sarraf, CMD, ONGC while Mr. Y. S. V. Seshu Kumar, Chairman CBSE looks on.

 cccc winner 2014

Chief Mentor of CCCC, Shri. Vivek Kumar Singh, IAS and National Coordinator, Shri. Raj Narayan Singh with the Winners of the CCCC 2014 Shalini Srinivasan and Biswarup Burman from Carmel Junior College, Jamshedpur.

 cccc winner 2013

CCCC 2013 Winner Akarshika V Kavitha A Bharadwaj from Holy Angel's Anglo Indian Higher Secondary School, Chennai; first runers-up Sunreeta Bhattacharya and Soham Chowdhury from Don Bosco, Kolkata and second runners-up Pulkit Tanwar and Akash Verma from Mount Abu Public School, New Delhi with CBSE Chairman Vineet Joshi and Chief Mentor Mr Vivek Kumar Singh, Mrs Harjot Kaur, MD Comfed and Mr Santosh Kumar Mall, Secretary Animal and Fisheries Resources are also seen.

CCCC Cryptic Crossword Contest

A national platform to wield your intellect

CCCC Cryptic Crossword Contest (CCCC) started as Sudha All-India Cryptic Crossword Contest (SAICCC) in 2013, exactly 100 years after the creator of the first published crossword Arthur Wynne had his Eureka moment. It got its first change of name in 2014 as CBSE Cryptic Crossword Contest (CCCC) before acquiring its present-day nomenclature. CCCC in the beginning, and also as the nano form, is the hard-earned brand recognition that Extra-C wears on its sleeve.

Played in twin phases every year, CCCC is an inter-school team contest. In Phase I, teams of two students each (studying in classes VII-XII) participate in written contests held in cities and towns across the country. Till the year 2019, it was open to students from classes IX-XII. A loud call from school students and their mentors encouraged us to open it to students from class VII onwards since the 2020 edition. In Phase II, winning teams from these city rounds converge on the national capital for the Grand Finale which decides the National Crossword Champion.

The contest is open to schools affiliated to any of the recognised boards in India.

Over the years, the contest has travelled to 100 cities and towns in India, covering well over 1,000 schools. The Limca Book of records has acknowledged CCCC as the biggest event of its kind in the country.

June, 2013

Started as Sudha All-India Cryptic Crossword Contest

    A not-for-profit-organisation, Extra-C came into existence on June 26, 2013 and since then has become a byword for quality in terms of providing a platform for quality extra-curricular pursuits. As its focus area, Extra-C’s mission is to promote crosswords among the youth and the adult alike.